Governance of District Police, Thrissur City

Consequent on bifurcation of Thrissur Police District into Thrissur City and Thrissur Rural vide GO (MS) No. 32/2011 DT: 05.02.2011, Thrissur City started its function w.e.f 03.03.2011. Thrissur City comprises two Subdivisions viz, Thrissur and Guruvayur and five circles viz. East, West, Ollur, Guruvayur and Peramangalam. The total area of Thrissur City is 570.79 Thrissur city shares its boundary with Palakkad District on the eastern side and with Thrissur Rural District on the other sides.

Thrissur Taluk, part of Mukundapuram Taluk , Thalappilly Taluk, & Chavakkad Taluk also comes under the jurisdiction of Thrissur City. Likewise the whole area of Thrissur Corporation, portion of Guruvayur , Chavakkad & Wadakkanchery Municipalities also falls under Thrissur City limits. Apart from this, there are two parliament constituencies viz Thrissur and Ottapalam and Six LA Constituencies viz Thrissur, Malaur, Nattika, Wadakkanchery, Ollur and Guruvayur