Consequent on bifurcation of Thrissur Police District into Thrissur City and Thrissur Rural vide GO (MS) No. 32/2011 DT: 05.02.2011, Thrissur City started its function w.e.f 03.03.2011. Thrissur City comprised of two Subdivisions viz, Thrissur and Guruvayur and five circles viz. East, West, Ollur, Guruvayur and Peramangalam. Latter Kunnamkulam sub division of Thrissur Rural was appended to Thrissur City and a new subdivision was formed namely Ollur sub division. At present there are 4 sub divisions namely Thrissur, Ollur, Kunnamkulam and Guruvayoor. There are a total of 21 Police stations, 1 Traffic enforcement, 1 Women Police Station and 1 Cyber Police station in the district. The total area of Thrissur City is 570.79 Thrissur city shares its boundary with Palakkad District on the eastern side, Malappuram district on the North side and with Thrissur Rural District on the other sides.

Last updated on Monday 20th of June 2022 AM