New DPO Building at Thrissur near Sakthan Bus Stand


Thrissur City Police District in Kerala State falls under Thrissur Range which comes under North Zone. Parts of Mukundapuram, Chavakad, Thrissur and full portion of Kunnamkulam and Thalappilly Taluks comes under the jurisdiction of Thrissur City Police. Thrissur is known as the Cultural Capital of Kerala. It is also known as the land of festivals. Among the Temple festivals of Kerala, Thrissur Pooram stands on a unique pedestal. This is recognized as a major National Festival and is listed in the National Tourism calendar for International Tourists. Famous Vadakunnathan Temple is situated in the heart of Thrissur Town, which is an archeological monument. Kerala Kalamandalam, a deemed University and school of arts run by the Government of Kerala, is located at Cheruthuruthy. The Lord Krishna Temple at Guruvayur is also situated within the jurisdiction of Thrissur City Police District.



The city police force is headed by District Police Chief, also known as Commissioner of Police.

Thrissur City Police District came into existence vide GO (MS) No. 32/2011 dated 05.02.2011, on March 3, 2011, after dividing erstwhile Thrissur District Police into Thrissur City and Thrissur Rural. Two Sub Divisions (Thrissur and Guruvayur), 5 circles, 9 Police Stations and Control Room was included in Thrissur City. Sri. P Vijayan IPS was the first City Police Commissioner and District Police Chief who held the charge with effect from 02.03.2011 to 31.12.2012. Later, vide Government Order No. GO(MS) No. 85/2018 Dtd. 11.05.2018, Kunnamkulam Sub Division was detached from Thrissur Rural Police District and added to Thrissur City Police District. Hence, 9 Police Stations were added to Thrissur City Police District. Presently, Thrissur City Police District covers 23 police stations and three Sub-Divisions, Thrissur, Guruvayur and Kunnamkulam. The District Police Office is a newly constructed Government Building near Sakthan Thampuran Nagar Bus Stand, which was inaugurated on 25.04.2018. Subordinate offices like District Special Branch, C-Branch, District Crime Records Bureau, Women Cell etc. are also functioning in this building. The present Commissioner of Police & District Police Chief, Sri. Aadhithya R IPS is holding the charge since 08.01.2020. The District Police Chief is assisted by Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police in Administrative matters and Assistant Commissioners of Police, Inspector Station House Oficers, Sub Inspectors, Assistant Sub Inspectors, Senior Civil Police Officers and Civil Police Officers numbering around 2200. The Police District is divided into Sub Divisions and Police Stations. Each headed by the officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police and Inspector Station House Officer respectively. Special Units like District Special Branch, C-Branch and District Crime Records Bureau are headed by Assistant Commissioners. District Armed Reserve Camp is located at Ramavarmapuram and it is headed by Deputy Commandant. Approximately 17000 crime cases are registered in the Police Stations per annum. In addition to this, there is about 85 Ministerial staff that helps the staff officers in various administrative and service related matters. The geographical features of Thrissur Police District are very vast and wide. Boundaries comprise of coastal lines of Chavakad and Vadakekad and thick forest and wild life sanctuaries of Peechi & Vazhani. The three Sub Divisions consisting 22 Police Stations and one Coastal police station at Munakakadavu. The boundaries of Peechi, Pazhayanur, Chelakkara & Cheruthuruthy Police Stations are shared with neighboring Palakkad District. Kunnamkulam, Vadakkekad and Chavakad Police Stations are sharing boundaries with Malappuram District.

Last updated on Saturday 9th of July 2022 AM